my little garden & a summer salad

Standard

Hope everyone had a wonderful weekend!

Roses

We moved into our house in December, and life was moving 90 mph. I’m sure there were a lot of things that I missed during that time, but there was one particular thing I didn’t notice until a couple months later. In my front yard, right next to the sidewalk, I had 3 beautiful rose bushes! I must have walked past them 100 times in those few months. Talk about a lack of observation on my behalf!

I know that roses are supposed to be pruned, but I definitely missed the window of time for which that was supposed to take place. Now, instead of walking down the sidewalk and admiring the beautiful antique pink roses, you must accommodate them. They’ve taken over!! I know that roses are to be pruned during a particular time window, and I’m pretty sure it was missed when the house changed hands.

DSC01622

I can’t prune them now, so I decided to work on some planted pots. I’ll be up front, I do not have a green thumb. Example? I only have a 66.6% success rate with cacti. I LIVE IN THE MOJAVE DESERT. So they are pretty now, but we’ll see how long that lasts.

Potted Cacti Oleander

Potted Plants

Anyway. Remember those beautiful beets and strawberries from the farmer’s market? They turned into this bad boy.

Beet and Berry Salad

DSC01689

This salad is full of so many different flavors and textures. It’s quickly become of my favorites. Especially for summer.

DSC01670

You start by scrubbing a few beets clean and wrapping  them tightly in foil. Lay them in a baking dish and bake in a 400° oven for 45 minutes – 1 hour. Basically until you can stick your fork into them with ease. Nice and tender! You can do this step ahead and use them a few days later, if that’s more convenient.

DSC01659 DSC01664

Next, take the bacon and fry it nice and crispy. I definitely suggest the low and slow method. This makes the bacon cook evenly and stay flat to the pan, instead of curling up! Then just let it cool and crumble.

DSC01685

Next, slice up the strawberries and beets. And crumble the goat cheese (those beets are like tie-dye, I’m telling ya).

DSC01681

Now all you have to do is throw everything together! Top the spinach with your beets, strawberries, goat cheese, and bacon. then drizzle it with balsamic glaze! Another good dressing is Newman’s Own Olive Oil and Vinegar mixed with honey (1/2 cup to 1TBSP ratio).

DSC01689

D opted for the no beet route. And used his own dressing. Whatever. 🙂

DSC01690

Beet & Berry Salad

Serves 2

4 cups baby spinach

3 slices thick bacon, crumbled

4 strawberries, sliced

2 beets, sliced

2 oz goat cheese

balsamic glaze

Newman’s Own Olive Oil and Vinegar and Honey

candied pecans (optional)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

