Grilled Almond Butter Sandwich

Standard
Grilled Almond Butter Sandwich

It’s Wednesday.   Here ya go.

The highs this week have been in the low 90’s!  I mean seriously, this is huge. I know, I know, it’s not exactly a cold snap, but I’m taking it. Personally, I’d rather be outside sipping on an adult beverage, catching some rays than spending too long in the kitchen. Just in case you fall under that category, here’s a quick sandwich I make for D at least once every weekend.

(Warning: Very sweet, not-so-healthy, deliciousness ahead!)

Crunchy. Creamy. Sweet. Buttery.

Grilled Almond Butter/Nutella Sandwich.

DSC01777

This is D’s version, mine is slightly different. I opt for almond butter, (homemade) sandplum jelly, and very ripe bananas on whole grain. BUT, here’s D’s!

Start with this line-up.

DSC01760

Take two pieces of sourdough bread and slather almond butter on one and nutella on the other. As thick as you like.

DSC01764

Now, this next step is a little tricky. You spread jelly on top of the almond butter. But, I use homemade jelly. My dad has been trying his hand at growing grapes, and then making jelly. Adam prefers his jelly. I prefer anything homemade, but always go for the sandplum. It reminds of all the little scrapes and cuts we incurred crawling through thick bushes, hunting those little berries so my mom could turn them into the sweetest, prettiest jelly.

DSC01768

Now all you have to do is grill it up! Melt a pad of butter in a non stick pan over medium heat and plop it down.

DSC01771

Give it a flip once it’s golden brown.

DSC01772

Notice the ooey, gooey-ness? I know I do.

DSC01775

I served this bad boy up with a cookie and some apples, to keep the kid-friendly theme in place. Milk is  MUST for this dish. Seriously.

D approved! (of the sandwich, not this picture 🙂 )

DSC01780

I ended up using the sandplum jelly for D’s sandwich, because he has depleted our grape supply. But he would love some more, apparently. 🙂

DSC01794

_________________________________________________________________________________________

I’m one of those humans that constantly has to be doing something. Cooking, sewing, working out, yada-yada. . .

Lately I have been working on my sewing skills. My mom and the women in her family can sew, like for real. So I use the term loosely when referring to myself. Yesterday I got these little gems. They make it SO much easier. Trying to go it without them was rough.

DSC01875

This was my first project. Gotta start somewhere, right?

DSC01877

I’m sure I’ll whip a few more out over the next week for practice.

Have a great day! 🙂

2 responses »

  1. So….would you like sand plum and grape refills? Uh, your pillow looks really great. You must have inherited that sew gene. 🙂 Check out my quilt board for some new ideas to do with your strips. I will mail them to you. Tell Adam he is such a good model for your blog!
    Love ya!
    Mom

    • Haha, Adam wants Grape! And I want sandplum. We’ll take either! It turned out a lot better than I figured it would. I am going through sale fabric really quickly haha I will look at your Pinterest board. I’m glad you said that because I have been saving them! 🙂 Love ya too!
      Talk to you later.

Leave a Reply

