Skillet Cornbread

Standard

Whew! It warmed up quickly this morning! Here are the results from today’s workout. My plan is to keep it up, and see how much time I can shave off. 🙂

DSC02938

The other day I was watching the Food Network, which is a cardinal sin when you are hungry, and saw a soup recipe. I didn’t really want soup, but it made me think of all the things that go hand in hand with it. Ya know, scones, breads, carb,carb, carb. . . .So I decided to go with Skillet Cornbread. Growing up, I always remember my dad making cornbread from scratch. We would usually have it with ham and beans and things of the sort, but my favorite way is with all of theses guys.

DSC02692

Understanding this is usually a cold weather meal, and that its 100°+ here, I decided to whip up a batch. 😉 I don’t have the recipe I grew up on, so I combined what I like about a few recipes and went with it. 🙂

DSC02726

Start by taking 1 cup cornmeal, 1 cup of AP flour, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1 tsp baking powder and mixing it in a medium sized bowl.

DSC02695 (1) DSC02697 (1) DSC02698 (1) DSC02699 (1) DSC02700 (1) DSC02704 (1)

I used this course ground cornmeal, which gave the cornbread a bit of a chew, ya know? So if that’s not your thing, stick with a finer ground meal.

DSC02694

Add 1 beaten egg, 1 cup buttermilk, 1 TBSP honey, 1/4 cup sour cream, and 2 TBSP of melted butter to the flour/cornmeal mixture.

DSC02706 (1) DSC02708 (1) DSC02711 (1) DSC02717 DSC02718 (1) DSC02719 (1)

Melt 2 TBSP of butter in a cast iron skillet over high heat.  As soon as it’s melted, add the cornbread batter, and place into a 400° oven. If you want a thicker cornbread, you can use an 8 inch cast iron skillet, for thinner, use a 10 inch.

DSC02715 (1) DSC02720 (1)

DSC02721 (1)

Bake for 20 – 30 minutes depending on the cast iron size. You want a toothpick to come out clean, and the cornbread to be golden brown on top.

DSC02724 (1)

DSC02725

Now butter and jelly that puppy and there ya have it. 🙂

DSC02728 (1)

Skillet Cornbread

1 c. cornmeal

1 c. AP flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

1 egg, beaten

1 c. buttermilk

1 TBSP honey

1/4 c. sour cream

4 TBSP butter (2 tbsp melted)

1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Add the first 4 ingredients together in a medium mixing bowl and mix together. Add one beaten egg, buttermilk, honey, sour cream, and 2 TBSP melted butter to the bowl. Mix together.

2. In a cast iron skillet, melt 2 TBSP butter over high heat until very hot. Pour batter into skillet and bake for 20-30 minutes (depending on skillet size), or until a toothpick comes out and it is golden brown.

About theuprootedokie

Hello...I'm the Uprooted Okie. An Oklahoma girl living in California. By trade, I'm a PE Teacher and Personal Trainer. I'm all about working out when you can, eating great food, and spending time with family. Welcome!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Cooking A Steak In A Cast Iron Skillet | Dishing it out with Clarissa

Leave a Reply

