Homemade Vanilla Syrup

Standard

(picture source)

My sophomore year in college I started getting interested in health and fitness, largely attributed to a little weight gain. I mean, an all you can eat meal plan, no sleep, too much sleep, etc…sheesh! Losing weight and getting healthy was a slow process I established by setting small goals along the way. I’ve kicked a ton of bad habits, but one habit that was hanging on until recently was artificial sweeteners, sucralose to be specific. I found myself using it so often, mainly in coffee. I’d use a huge scoop of sucralose, and then a tablespoon of syrup, sweetened by (drumrolllllll, please!) SUCRALOSE! 😉  I know, horrible. It can totally wreck your GI tract, screw with your metabolism and confuse your body. Here recently, I threw it all out.

After a few conversations and research, I decided it is totally NOT worth it. And I really don’t miss it. I am totally fine with scaling back on quantities, and consuming real sugar. The body appreciates it, too. So, if you’re still hooked on artificial sweeteners, check out these links below, and see if you change your mind. I’m not saying what’s best for me is best for everyone. . .make your own, educated decision. 🙂

http://www.nydailynews.com/life-style/health/artificial-sweeteners-splenda-trigger-insulin-spike-study-article-1.1359598

http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2013/06/26/cspi-downgrades-splenda.aspx

http://thechart.blogs.cnn.com/2013/07/10/diet-soda-may-do-more-harm-than-good/

Two things to keep in mind concerning your diet are eating natural things in moderation. If your great grandma wouldn’t recognize it, chances are it’s iffy. 🙂

So, now that I don’t get to use my Sugar-Free coffee syrup, I decided to whip up my own batch of the real stuff. Let me tell ya, if I would have had this recipe before now, I would have kicked those sweeteners a looooong time ago. This stuff is serious.

It takes about 3 steps and 4 ingredients. So easy!

Take 1 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup UNPACKED brown sugar, 1-2 TBSP good vanilla, and 1 generous cup water. Throw all of that into a small saucepan and stir it up.

DSC03004

    DSC03006 DSC03005

DSC03008

Bring the mixture to a boil over high heat, stirring constantly. Once boiling, turn to low and let simmer for about 15 minutes.

DSC03012

Once the liquid has reduced by about a third, remove from heat and let cool. That’s it! If you put it in unique bottles and jars, it would make a great homemade Christmas gift. Put in a basket with some coffee and a cute mug. . .easy, easy!

Homemade Vanilla Syrup

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup unpacked brown sugar

1-2 TBSP good vanilla

1 generous cup water

1. Add all ingredients to a saucepan and bring to a boil over high heat. Once boiling, reduce heat and let simmer for about 15 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool!. 🙂

2 responses »

  1. I love you but I am DYING over the label on the jar. Does that say Syryp? Is that like Sizzurp?
    Also, you should try making herb simple syrup by steeping lavender buds or bruised basil leaves. . . or mint. . . or ginger. . . great for cocktails.

Leave a Reply

