Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream

Standard

August in the Mojave Desert. . . it shouldn’t be that hot, right? It’s not too bad, if you have A/C. But ours went out in the middle of the night! Talk about a real nightmare. I fiddled with the thing, trying to stumble upon a solution to my misery. I’m usually pretty lucky with this method but this time, no dice. I watched the thermostat continue to climb with the temps outside. We called a repair man out, and he gave us some news that made me wish were tenants rather than homeowners. We need a new unit. 😦

Good thing I made some homemade ice cream this weekend! It came in pretty clutch when I had to break the news to D when he got home from work!

I love homemade ice cream for two reasons. First of all it’s delicious. I mean, who doesn’t like cream, sugar, and vanilla? Secondly, it reminds me of summer back home. Homemade ice cream was such a treat back in Oklahoma. Not only because it was so tasty, but because we always made it at my grandparents surrounded by family. Now that we’re 1,500 miles away, those times are few and far between. So for my birthday, I made my mom’s vanilla ice cream. Happy Birthday to me! 🙂

I will admit, this isn’t exactly like my mom’s, but as close as I could get. But let me tell ya, it got the job done!

DSC03158

Start by cracking 5 eggs into a microwave safe bowl, and whisking them together. In a separate smaller bowl, mix 1 3/4 c sugar and 1-2 TBSP. Now add the sugar and flour to the eggs, followed by 2 cups milk. Give it all a stir.

DSC03078 DSC03079

Cook the mixture in the microwave for 1 minute, then take it out and stir. Repeat this 2 more times. Be sure that you don’t cook it to a pudding consistency, this step is simply to cook the eggs in the ice cream.

Once you’ve cooked the mixture, set it in the fridge to cool down. Once cooled, add 2 1/2 cups heavy cream and 3 TBSP of good vanilla. I used more cream than a lot of recipes call for, but I used skim milk. I had to make up for the loss of fat and calories! 🙂

DSC03147 DSC03149

DSC03150

Pour the mixture into your ice cream maker, and fill to the “fill line” with skim milk. If you’re ice cream maker doesn’t have a “fill line,” it’s usually about 2/3 of the way full, or so.

DSC03151

Freeze the ice cream according to your ice cream maker’s instructions. Bada-boom, bada-bing! We ate ours alongside D’s Chocolate Sheet Cake, but it really good with a little Homemade Vanilla Syrup drizzled over, too! 🙂

DSC03166

Fortunately there was a ton left, so we can have a bowl to cool off until our A/C is back up and running. 😉

DSC03167

Have a great day!

Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream

5 eggs

1 3/4 cups sugar

2 TBSP flour

2 cups milk

2 1/2 cups heavy cream

3 TBSP good vanilla

milk to fill

1. Beat eggs in a bowl. In a smaller bowl, stir together the flour and sugar, and then add to eggs. Now add the 2 cups milk and stir to combine all. Microwave for 1 minute, and the stir well. Repeat this 2 more times, being sure not to let the mixture become like a pudding. Once the cooking is done, set in fridge for a few hours to cool the mixture.

2. Once cooled, add cream and vanilla. Mix together and pour into ice cream maker. Pour enough milk to reach the “fill line,” which is usually about 2/3 the way full. Freeze according to the ice cream maker’s directions and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

